WQA Professional Certification Program

What is the WQA Professional Certification Program?
The WQA Professional Certification program helps consumers and employers identify individuals in the point-of-use/point-of-entry water quality improvement industry who have demonstrated a certified level of professional expertise and are dedicated to high professional standards. WQA certification is a voluntary credentialing process. To achieve any WQA-certified title, the candidate must pass a comprehensive exam and accept the WQA Code of Ethics for the Water Quality Improvement Industry.

Benefits of Certification to the Water Treatment Professional

  • Consumer confidence
  • Certification patches and pins instantly identify certified personnel to consumers
  • Credibility from a third-party organization
  • More business opportunities
  • Greater employment opportunities
  • Listing on the WQA web site

WQA Offers Several Levels of Certification

  • Certified Water Specialists (CWS)
    • For individuals involved in sales, installation, and/or manufacturing of water treatment products, or who manage a water treatment business. There are six possible levels, CWS –I through CWS-VI
  • Certified Installer (CI)
    • For individuals responsible for planning, installing, and/or servicing water quality improvement products.
  • Certified Sales Representative (CSR)
    • For individuals responsible for sale of water quality improvement products
  • Certified Contractual Operator (CCO) for Very Small Systems
    • For individuals responsible for operation of water systems serving less than 500 people.
    • This certification requires a high school diploma or GED certificate, and participants
    • Must complete courses specifically related to operations of small drinking water systems. It also requires letters of endorsement from appropriate regulatory or water treatment officials.

To achieve any WQA-certified title (CWS, CI, CSR), a person must pass a lengthy exam and agree to abide by the WQA Code of Ethics for the Water Quality Improvement Industry.

Who can become WQA-certified?
WQA’s program tests and certifies only individuals, not dealerships or companies. WQA membership is not required for certification. Certifications are valid for three years. Certified personnel must recertify by obtaining continuing education credits. Credits can be obtained at industry-related seminars, or are available online through the WQA.

How do I prepare for a WQA certification exam?
Most people prepare for exams through home study. Suggested study materials are available from the national WQA.

Where can I take a WQA certification exam?
Exams are usually offered at state Water Quality Association conventions. Individual companies may also offer opportunities for employees to take exams. Visit the WQA website for more information, including exam pricing and guidelines.